Forthcoming appearances

15 August 2013: Edinburgh Book Festival. Baillie Gifford Main Theatre, 11.30 am. Details here.

31 August 2013: Festival della Mente, Sarzana, Italy, 10.30 am. Details here.

2 September 2013: Feltrinelli bookshop, via Farina 17, Parma, Italy, 7 pm. Details here.

3 September 2013: Libreria Palazzo Roberti, via Jacopo Da Ponte 34, Bassano del Grappa, Italy, 6 pm. Details here.

10 September 2013: Waterstones Bookshop, 203-206 Piccadilly, London, 6.30 pm. With David Quantick. Details here.

11 September 2013: St Peter’s Church, Ely, 7.30 pm. Details here.

3 October 2013: Topping and Company, The Paragon, Bath, Somerset BA1 5LS, 8 pm. Details here.

4 October 2013: Sevenoaks Literary Celebration, Ship Theatre, Walthamstow Hall School, Hollybush Lane. Sevenoaks TN13 3UL, 7.30 pm. Details here.

6 October 2013: Hall Two, Kings Place, 90 York Way, London N1 9AG, 6.30 pm. Details here.

9 October 2013: Foyles Bookshop, Cabot Circus, Bristol, 6.30 pm. Details here.

10 October 2013: Library Studio, Library of Birmingham, Centenary Square, Broad Street, Birmingham, B1 2ND, 7.30 pm. Details here.

12 October 2013: Sky Arts Garden Theatre, Cheltenham Literature Festival, 8.45 pm. With Dominic Sandbrook. Details here.

13 October 2013: Toll Gavel United Church, Beverley, Yorkshire, 1 pm. Details here.

16 October 2013: The Atomium, Brussels, Belgium, 8 pm. Details here.

17 October 2013: WH Smith, 248, Rue de Rivoli, 75001, Paris, France, 7 pm. Details here.

19 October 2013: Cours Estienne d’Orves, 13001 Marseille, France, 6 pm. With James Meek. Details here.

26 October 2013: Daunt Books, 83 Marylebone High Street, London W1U 4QW, 10.30 am. With Ali Smith. Details here.

16 November 2013: Scittorincittà, Centro incontri della Provincia, Corso Dante 41, Cuneo, Italy, 4.30 pm. Details here.

21 November 2013: The Book Hive, 53 London Street, Norwich NR2 1HL, 6.30 pm. With DJ Taylor. Details here.

1 December 2013: ADC Theatre, Park Street, Cambridge CB5 8AS, 1 pm. Details here.

4 December 2013: Onassis Cultural Centre, 107-109 Syngrou Avenue, Athens, Greece. Details here.

Please check back for more events - this page will be updated regularly.

New novel and short story

Jonathan is pleased to announce that his 10th novel, EXPO 58, will be published by Viking Penguin in September 2013. Foreign rights have already been sold to many of the European countries, so translations should follow soon after the English version.

Also, on December 23rd, the Sunday Telegraph will publish his new short story, ‘Rotary Park’. Close readers and fans of The Rain Before It Falls will recognise a few characters from that novel.

New short story on ebook and audio

A new short story by Jonathan called Pentatonic has just been published by Penguin in ebook format only. The text-only version can be downloaded from the Kindle Store on amazon.

Better still, you can hear an audio version, narrated by Jonathan himself, with music by Danny Manners. The running time is 33 minutes and it can be downloaded from iTunes, Audible and (soon, we hope) eMusic. This is the best way to experience the story as Danny has written some wonderful music, which relates very closely to the narrative itself. In this respect Pentatonic is a significant extension of their collaboration on 9th and 13th. Fans of The Rain Before It Falls will also recognise some of the characters and settings.

Jonathan will blog about the story very shortly - as soon as he has a moment!

BBC Rotters’ Club on DVD

See the blog entry for September 12th 2010

jonathan coe portrait imageJonathan Coe was born on 19 August 1961 in Lickey, a suburb of south-west Birmingham. His father worked in the motor industry as a research physicist; his mother was a music and PE teacher.
read more